breaking the plane of the stop board?

News about national level high school pole vaulting, pole vaulters, rules, etc. Things that are of local interest only should go in the regional forums below. High schoolers wanting to chat should go to the High School Lounge.

Moderators: Robert schmitt, Russ

coachknight
PV Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:51 am

breaking the plane of the stop board?

Unread postby coachknight » Thu May 01, 2008 12:01 pm

If i break the plane of the stop board with the pole and do not touch the ground or landing pad beyond, it is not a scratch. Is that correct? help!

User avatar
master
PV Lover
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:03 am
Expertise: Masters Vaulter, Volunteer HS Coach, Former College Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 4.36m
Location: Oregon

Re: breaking the plane of the stop board?

Unread postby master » Thu May 01, 2008 12:59 pm

coachknight wrote:If i break the plane of the stop board with the pole and do not touch the ground or landing pad beyond with either the pole or my body, it is not a scratch. Is that correct? help!

As amended for clarification, that is correct.

- master

User avatar
powerplant42
PV Rock Star
Posts: 2571
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:58 am
Location: Italy

Unread postby powerplant42 » Fri May 02, 2008 5:48 pm

So the ruling is is that if only one of the two components crosses, then it isn't an attempt? Are you sure? I thought it was that if the vaulter crosses at all then it was considered a jump, but the bend of the pole was allowed to pass the plane of the back of the box and one could still bail out and not scratch. Is this wrong?
"I run and jump, and then it's arrrrrgh!" -Bubka

User avatar
vaultman18
PV Pro
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:07 pm
Expertise: College Coach, Former College Vaulter
Favorite Vaulter: Tim Mack
Location: Sacramento, CA

Unread postby vaultman18 » Fri May 02, 2008 8:10 pm

powerplant42 wrote:So the ruling is is that if only one of the two components crosses, then it isn't an attempt? Are you sure? I thought it was that if the vaulter crosses at all then it was considered a jump, but the bend of the pole was allowed to pass the plane of the back of the box and one could still bail out and not scratch. Is this wrong?


You can break the Plane all you want you just can't touch anything on the other side.

User avatar
master
PV Lover
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:03 am
Expertise: Masters Vaulter, Volunteer HS Coach, Former College Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 4.36m
Location: Oregon

Unread postby master » Fri May 02, 2008 10:39 pm

vaultman18 wrote:You can break the Plane all you want you just can't touch anything on the other side.

...with either your pole or your body.

ART. 29 ... It is a foul if the competitor:
a. ...
b. ...
c. ...
d. Allows any part of his/her body or the pole to touch the ground or the
landing system beyond the vertical plane of the top of the stopboard, without
clearing the bar.
e. ...
f. ...
g. ...
h. ...
i. ...

- master

User avatar
spike gibeault
PV Pro
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 7:41 pm
Location: CT
Contact:

Unread postby spike gibeault » Fri May 02, 2008 11:06 pm

around here if anybody has stopped their run but the tip of the pole goes past the back of the box, even without touching anything it is a miss for "breaking the plane" is this correct procedure
"My biggest fear is my lack of fear."-Mat Hoffman

belmore
PV Pro
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 12:34 am
Location: Austin Tx

Unread postby belmore » Fri May 02, 2008 11:08 pm

NO
compete and jump safe, have fun


Return to “Pole Vault - High School”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests