Video review-all suggestions welcome!

Post your videos and pictures to be reviewed here. Please read the guidelines first.
Maysie
PV Newbie
Expertise: Current high school vaulter
Lifetime Best: 10'9
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Stacy Dragila

Video review-all suggestions welcome!

Unread postby Maysie » Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:55 pm

Hi! My name is Maysie and I am a high school vaulter. My pr is 10'9 and I weight 145lbs. In this video I am coming from a run of 75 feet and I am using a 12'6 155 pole holding at around 12 feet. I have been vaulting for around three years but I can't seem to fully invert and I have an extremely slow turn. Any suggestions to fix these problems and others would be much appreciated!!

http://youtu.be/SMT7DiPgAC4

GasPasser
PV Whiz
Expertise: Former HS vaulter - now 55-59YO Masters vaulter, and part-time coach
Lifetime Best: 13'6"
Favorite Vaulter: Bubka

Re: Video review-all suggestions welcome!

Unread postby GasPasser » Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:03 pm

The thing that jumps out to me this one jump in your video is that you are way under and getting swept off your feet as a result.
With a 12' grip, your take off should be about 9'. You took off at about 8' - a whole foot under. You can't jump up when you are that far under, and you also can't get a good swing. Without a good powerful swing, initiated by a strong whip-kick from your trail-leg, you won't get a good inversion. Ideally, you need a good drive knee as well, but with being so far under, you couldn't get it.

I'd like to see both your arms in the video at take-off as well - have your video taker stand further back.