Take off step

This is a forum to discuss advanced pole vaulting techniques. If you are in high school you should probably not be posting or replying to topics here, but do read and learn.
Enloe11
PV Beginner
Expertise: High school vaulter, current college vaulter (7 Years)
Lifetime Best: 5m
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Sergei Bubka

Take off step

Unread postby Enloe11 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:40 pm

I have been vaulting for 7 years now so my brain has been trained to take off within a certain distance. Im just starting to get on to 15' poles now and im starting to raise my hand grip closer and closer to the top. With doing that my take off step is getting further and further out. I've never taken off past 12' and now im suppose to be taking off closer to 13'. My problem is that im so use to taking off at about 12' that my body compinsates and i put my self under 6" to 1' which in not good when you start gettng on big poles. How can I make my self take off where I need too.

PVDaddy
PV Follower
Expertise: Former High School Vaulter, High School coach, College coach
Lifetime Best: 10.5 Ft
Favorite Vaulter: Cornelius Warmerdam

Re: Take off step

Unread postby PVDaddy » Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:48 pm

Enloe, I do not recommend this but I saw it work. A tennis shoe was placed on the line and nobody stretched. Better off just to imagine its there!
Every jot and every tittle adds up to more than just a little.

KirkB
PV Rock Star
Expertise: Former College Vaulter; Former Elite Vaulter; Former Coach; Fan
Lifetime Best: 5.34
Favorite Vaulter: Thiago da Silva

Unread postby KirkB » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:00 pm

PVDaddy wrote:Enloe, I do not recommend this but I saw it work. A tennis shoe was placed on the line and nobody stretched. Better off just to imagine its there!

This is a really stupid idea. It was stupid of whatever coach did this in the first place, and it's even stupider for you to post it on PVP (even with your cautions).