Attn: Tim McMichael!

This is a forum to discuss advanced pole vaulting techniques. If you are in high school you should probably not be posting or replying to topics here, but do read and learn.
jcoover
PV Pro
Favorite Vaulter: Nicholas Panozzo

Attn: Tim McMichael!

Unread postby jcoover » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:36 pm

Hey after all of this talk about petrov vs. ''power vault'' and the Oklahoma manifesto and the recent discussion regarding the trail leg, I began thinking of Brad Gebauer. A few years ago, my freshman year at Indiana, I jumped against Brad in my first outdoor big ten's. His hamstring was really messed up and he could barely get down the runway. Being a stupid freshman, I thought ''this is my chance to beat an 18 footer''. Not the case. Brad ended up jumping 5.15m or 5.25m from 5 lefts on a 15' pole limping down the runway. I recently dug up the video and thought you would like to see it and would love to see what you think of it and how it relates to the technical model that you have been describing as of late. check it:

http://www.youtube.com/swf/l.swf?video_id=lt-GYcrQD5U&rel=1&eurl=&iurl=http%3A//i.ytimg.com/vi/lt-GYcrQD5U/default.jpg&t=OEgsToPDskJUO14m0MBOldH8i7SRH_FP

The drive on bottom is pretty incredible and he absolutely smoked that bar hangin somewhere in the midst of 17'. It reminds me a lot of the video that you posted at one point of Buckingham where just as you think there's no way he's gonna make the bar, he just blows right over.

PS Brad - I hope you're cool with me posting a vid of you haha.
"We can, by God, let our demons loose and just wail on!" - John L Parker

Tim McMichael
PV Master
Expertise: Current college and private coach. Former elite vaulter.

Unread postby Tim McMichael » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:47 pm

Yep. That is the jump I am talking about. That jump is almost a clone of Joe Dial's vault. Note that the takeoff is nearly free, not quite, but very close.

Bubba PV
PV Lover