Coaching Question for anyone...

A forum for coaches to discuss coaching technique and advice with each other. Only registered coaches can post in this forum.

Moderator: AVC Coach

xtremevaulter

Coaching Question for anyone...

Unread postby xtremevaulter » Fri Apr 23, 2004 2:38 am

I am coaching a high school team in washington. I am a young coach who has only been vaulting for six years....so I am not the expert. I have a jumper who is constantly 1-2 feet inside, but somehow manages to get up and over 12-6 just fine. the reason he is so far inside is because he keeps stretching out his last step. Is there any thing i can do to teach his body to shorten his last step...I am really baffeled.

My second question is does anyone have any bright Ideas on how to get a couple of girls to first get over mentle issues about bending a pole and then secondly how to teach their body to keep a straight bottom arm?

Any advice would help..

Oldcoach
PV Nerd

Unread postby Oldcoach » Fri Apr 23, 2004 10:36 am

With every new set of kids I go thru the same issues. I experimented with different techniques to solve these problems with mixed results.
The "Under" issue- I put a tape box on the track and keep moving the guys run back until he can't possibly takeoff under. Keep doing it until he gets use to the visual sense. Make sure he is getting the plant up early. start moving the run in and see if the takeoff point moves in- if so go back to square one and start again.
Bending the pole/Arm collapse- I use the slide box to give them the feel of the arm pressure and body rigidity necessary. Start at 2 steps then 4. My slide box weighs about 30 lbs and when they can give it a good push- 4-6 feet from 4 steps without falling on their face or a** its time to try it on the runway. Emphasize pushing "up" with bottom arm and leading with the chest.
With some kids this seems to work with others maybe not.
Hope it helps

Aviendha
PV Pro
Expertise: Current Collegiate Vaulter