Pressing

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

THisguy
PV Newbie
Expertise: Current HS Vaulter-2 years
Lifetime Best: 12'6
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie

Pressing

Unread postby THisguy » Sat Dec 10, 2011 8:57 pm

Hello, this is my first post to this forum. I am a second year vaulter and I am just beginning to press the pole. However, I am having issues keeping my lower arm straight, as I continue to break it on every vault, no matter how much I concentrate on it. Any tips?

rainbowgirl28
I'm in Charge
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, I coach and officiate as life allows
Lifetime Best: 11'6"
Favorite Vaulter: Casey Carrigan

Re: Pressing

Unread postby rainbowgirl28 » Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:22 am

I recommend watching this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SSah2B6Xnw&feature=gv

You don't need to have your bottom arm straight, the only wait to get your bottom arm straight as a beginner is to block out and do a lot of stuff wrong.

LoJo Vault Assault
PV Wannabe
Expertise: Former: College Vaulter, Elite Vaulter, DI College Coach; Current: High School, Elite, Club Coach
Lifetime Best: 19-7.5
Favorite Vaulter: LoJo

Unread postby LoJo Vault Assault » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:41 pm

Learn to do it right from the start. Keep your left arm out and moving pressing up and away from you.

Do not allow your pole to come closer throught he left arm.

When the left arm collapses immediatetly, it means you are not moving the pole as you begin to work on it.

You may point out video of somebody doing a vault with a breaking left arm but remember that it doesnt make it right.