Gain weight or lose it?

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

Mellemeter
PV Newbie
Expertise: Newbie
Lifetime Best: 4-5 feet
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Alex Sarantos

Gain weight or lose it?

Unread postby Mellemeter » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:11 am

Hi, I'm new to the whole pole vaulting thing and could use some help. My coach knows nothing of vaulting but said that if I was interested in vaulting I could try it out. So last week he gave me a pole and said "see what happens." I grabbed the pole at the very back like I see olympic vaulters do, I ran like crazy down the strip, planted, lost my grip and flipped forward, landing in the metal box. Since then I have been trying to learn but I simply cannot bend the pole. I weigh 148-150lbs and the only poles we have at my school are a 140 weighted pole and a 160 weighted pole. My coach tells me that I will break the 140 if I use it, but I can't even budge the 160. So at this point I don't know if I should try to lose weight and use the 140 pole, or if I should gain weight and still try to bend the stiff as broomhandle 160.

Your thoughts?
Any help is greatly appreciated!

VaultPurple
PV Lover
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, College Coach, Pole Vault Addict
Favorite Vaulter: Greg Duplantis

Re: Gain weight or lose it?

Unread postby VaultPurple » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:44 am

For starters, when your starting, you never grip the top of the pole. About 9 foot up is plenty for the start.

What length are the two poles? That is really important.

But most importantly, unless you are like 5'6 or under, you do not need to be under 140. How tall are you?