Why is this happening?

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

bb12334
PV Wannabe
Expertise: High School Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 12
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Bubka, Renaud Lavillenie

Why is this happening?

Unread postby bb12334 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:35 pm

I started pole vault about a month ago. I am a sophomore in high school and am 5'6 and 130 pounds. In my first meet I didn't really know that much about technique and just went for it. I got over 7', 7'6 and then on 8' my coach said i needed to drive my knee and push off at takeoff more. This worked and i managed to clear 8'6. During that meet I used a 12 ft 130 pole. The next practice I managed to clear a 9' bungee twice and was very happy. I went home excited and began looking at the proper technique for jumping. I watched videos and read blogs and thought it would help. The next practice I used a 12 ft 130 pole, same brand but a different physical pole. I was unable to get any bend on it and got frustrated. My friend said he wanted to move from a 120 to a 130 pole. I said we could switch, thinking a lighter pole would allow me to practice getting bend. It didn't work though, and i still could not get any bend. The majr difference was I was running up faster to the box and maybe I couldn't control it. During the next meet I cleared 8 by a good 6 inches but then was unable to clear 8'6. Is it normal to do well your first meet and then the next one do worse. Or is there something I can do to succeed more. I think I may have overthought it and try too much technqiue for my level. What can I do? I am also switching back to my original 130 pole so I will see if that makes a difference.

VaultPurple
PV Lover
Expertise: Former College Vaulter, College Coach, Pole Vault Addict
Favorite Vaulter: Greg Duplantis

Re: Why is this happening?