First Competition this Weekend

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

hurdlesgal
PV Newbie
Expertise: Beginning Vaulter
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie
Favorite Vaulter: Jen Suhr

First Competition this Weekend

Unread postby hurdlesgal » Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:48 am

I am a complete beginner and have tried to vault twice now in practice, although only once with my coach who is now away on holiday until September. I need some basic insight as to attaining the highest height possible in my competition this coming Saturday. I am 36 years old, 5'7" tall, and 128 pounds and have a current flat 100m PB of 13 low. Currently I take a 6 step run-up (3 lefts) and cleared 1.80m (approx. 6 feet) in training the first day.

My goal is to clear 2.00m in the next month and I have the following questions:
1) Should I switch to an 8 step run-up (4 lefts) at some height or can I clear 2.00m on 3 lefts?
2) Should the uprights be at 40 cm or 50 cm? I can choose and don't know what would be better? Is there a certain spacing that is best for beginners? I don't seem to have a problem getting into the middle of the pit.
3) What size pole should I use? We have UCS brand and I think the ones I tried were 10 foot 8 inches and 11 foot 6 inches.
4) Should I even worry about rotating to the side in the air? (I think I am starting to but haven't worked on this yet)
5) How high up on the pole should I grip? I am trying to really punch the air on takeoff and find myself gripping higher and higher up on the pole as the height increases.

Any other tips for a total beginner getting over 2.00m would be greatly appreciated. I don't think I'll be able to practice before my competition on Saturday but am hoping to clear 1.80m (6 feet).

Pole vaulting is so fun! I wish they'd had it when I was in school. It is very cool to fly through the air even at low heights!