Running sideways, bottom arm collapsing

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

stepup.stepout
PV Newbie
Expertise: High School Vaulter
World Record Holder?: Renaud Lavillenie

Running sideways, bottom arm collapsing

Unread postby stepup.stepout » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:48 am

This is my first year of true pole vaulting. I did a little last year as a junior, but I wasn't able to compete in it because of my long distance T&F coach. I've only been training for about 2 weeks now and my PR so far has been 8'0. I am using a 160 12'10 pole, and I am holding at about 10 feet.

During my runup, I start with my shoulders square to the runway. I start off at a good speed, but gradually decrease my speed before I get to the box, but I am working on that. One problem is my shoulders also become less and less square to the runway as I get to the box until I'm to the point where I am basically running sideways. Now, if I do get to the box and plant, my bottom arm tends to collapse almost completely. But while I am holding at 10 feet and I plant in the box, it feels as if I am just being jerked back by the pole. In the end I am getting no height and I am not penetrating the pit. What can I do to improve upon this?

xjoeyx
PV Whiz
Expertise: Current College Vaulter, BIG FAN
Favorite Vaulter: Toby Stevenson, Jeff Hartwig

Re: Running sideways, bottom arm collapsing

Unread postby xjoeyx » Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:55 pm