Help: Can only jump 8'6

A forum to discuss pole vault technique as it relates to beginning vaulters. If you have been jumping less than a year, this is the forum for you.

Moderator: achtungpv

James J.
PV Newbie
Lifetime Best: 8'6

Help: Can only jump 8'6

Unread postby James J. » Wed May 20, 2009 9:07 pm

Yo,

I'm a sophomore and my pr is 8'6. I use a 13 foot 150 pole and the season just ended. I'm looking to get about 10+ next season and I need to know what to in the off season. The approach run is fine for me, its just when i get into the air I seem to do nothing right. My coach says I pull the pole into me when I'm suppose to keep them out straight and strong, is this true? Also, I dont do the turn yet, is their an easy way to learn it or is it just a matter of time? Also, when I hold high on my pole I dont go as high as when I hold lower this no bend, why is this? When i do hold high, I never seem to go foward, i just fall in the pit. I'm running fast enough its just something in the air. anyone have any tips? Thanks, i really need this.

powerplant42
PV Rock Star

Re: Help: Can only jump 8'6

Unread postby powerplant42 » Thu May 21, 2009 6:59 am

I'd like you to try to answer one of your questions yourself... Why might the pole bend and not go as fast if you hold higher?

As for your other questions... I suggest spending most of the off-season working on... your RUN and PLANT! :yes:
"I run and jump, and then it's arrrrrgh!" -Bubka

gvvault
PV Beginner
Expertise: Current High School Vaulter
Lifetime Best: 12ft

Unread postby gvvault » Thu May 21, 2009 7:12 pm

James J. wrote:Yo,