Page 1 of 2
Breaking the Plane rule question
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 11:28 pm
by Glory
Ok so I was vaulting wednesday and had an attempt at 15'5 to qualify for NAIA's....on my second attempt i went up and bailed..i got semi upside down before bailing and didnt break the plane of the box and landed on the front part of the mat. would this be considered a miss or would i still have received another shot? ... after some strong convencing from my coach and myself i got another shot but i was just curious if this was right for future reference...thanks all
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 12:45 am
by vaultmd
How did you get through the whole season without reading a rule book?
Do you even know if it's the same as the NCAA book?
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 12:45 am
by rainbowgirl28
vaultmd wrote:How did you get through the whole season without reading a rule book?
Do you even know if it's the same as the NCAA book?
Yes, the NAIA uses the NCAA rules when it comes to running a track meet.
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 1:32 am
by master
I will offer an opinion, but it is just that. The NCAA rule states (and unless there is explicit statement by NAIA saying they are different, NCAA rules apply)
ARTICLE 2. A failed attempt shall be called when:
c. Without clearing the bar, any part of the competitor’s body or the pole
touches the ground or the landing area beyond the vertical plane of the
inside edge of the top of the box;
If you are correct that no part of your pole or body touched the pads beyond the vertical plane defined, then I would not count it as an attempt. If however as is very often the case, the bending pole does touch the pit pad anywhere beyond that plane, then it would be charged as a failed attempt.
- master
breaking the plane AND MAKING CONTACT
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 10:03 pm
by drcurran
Good call Master. You hit the nail right on the head.
Dan
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:48 am
by Righteous Vaulter
It is actually a foul according to the NCAA rulebook found on the NCAA website.
ARTICLE 2. A failed attempt shall be called when:
a. After the vault, the bar does not remain on the pegs because of the action
of the competitor while vaulting;
b. A competitor steadies the bar during an attempt;
c. A competitor leaves the ground in an attempt to vault and fails to clear
the crossbar;
d. Without clearing the bar, any part of the competitor’s body or the pole
touches the ground or the landing area beyond the vertical plane of the
inside edge of the top of the box;
e. During a vault, a competitor moves the upper hand higher on the pole
or raises the lower hand above the upper hand;
f. A competitor fails to initiate a trial as prescribed in Rule 6-1-3 or Rule
6-1-4;
g. A competitor violates the warm-up restrictions of Rule 6-1-12.
In international rules you can pretty much take a full jump and land on the front buns and it is not a miss, but not in college.
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 6:40 am
by AVC Coach
I would have to call it a foul according to those rules. If the athlete bails out of a vault, he/she left the ground with the intention or hope of attempting the bar. USATF will allow it. I think it's a dangerous rule, especially for the younger vaulters.
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 11:07 am
by master
Here is where I got my quote. It
appears to be the NCAA rule book. Look on page 95.
- master
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:51 pm
by Barto
Righteous Vaulter wrote:It is actually a foul according to the NCAA rulebook found on the NCAA website.
ARTICLE 2. A failed attempt shall be called when:
a. After the vault, the bar does not remain on the pegs because of the action
of the competitor while vaulting;
b. A competitor steadies the bar during an attempt;
c. A competitor leaves the ground in an attempt to vault and fails to clear
the crossbar;
d. Without clearing the bar, any part of the competitor’s body or the pole
touches the ground or the landing area beyond the vertical plane of the
inside edge of the top of the box;
e. During a vault, a competitor moves the upper hand higher on the pole
or raises the lower hand above the upper hand;
f. A competitor fails to initiate a trial as prescribed in Rule 6-1-3 or Rule
6-1-4;
g. A competitor violates the warm-up restrictions of Rule 6-1-12.
In international rules you can pretty much take a full jump and land on the front buns and it is not a miss, but not in college.
This is the old rule.
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:59 pm
by rainbowgirl28
Yeah, I think the rule just changed in the past year or two, so some confusion is understandable.
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 8:42 pm
by Righteous Vaulter
Good call, I was looking at the 2006 rulebook. Wish I had known that changed at the Conference meet. My third attempt never broke the plane. Bummer.
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 12:25 pm
by Glory
yeah that is all where my confusion took place as well...the rule just changed this last year and no-one really knows the exact stating of the rule...